Quotes to inspire you!!

Even though my blog is primarily a travel blog, every once in a while I like to write about general things that interest or bother me. Lately I have noticed a tendancy to think negative thoughts, common ones are guilt, anger and envy. We all know how bad negative energy is for the body and one’s karma in general, so what do you do when one of these negative thoughts plants itself in your mind?

I have 2 techniques for getting rid of negative thoughts. The first is to fantasize about something, anything, for instance getting that role in the show I auditioned for, getting my business of the ground and winning Business Woman of the Year or anything a bit steamy usually does the trick (although this is not advised when driving). The second technique is to say a mantra over and over again. Mantras are usually 1- liners aimed at attracting something positive into your life, like health, money, confidence and abundance.

The Buddist way of life teaches us to live in the present. As fantasizing involves thinking about the future its probably a bit better to use mantras to clear negative thoughts from the mind so I thought I would take a moment to share some of my favourite mantras and quotes. If you have more why not keep adding to the list in the comments section at the bottom.

My favorites

“No bird soars too high if he soars with his own wings” William Blake

“The parable of talents teaches us it is unacceptable to bury our talents…it is our duty to develop those talents given to us, and the joy we derive from doing so. G-d would not have put us on this earth with a passion and talent for something, if we were only going to bury it”

 

“The most wasted of all days is one without laughter” E.E. Cummings

“What you don’t have you don’t need it now
What you don’t know you can feel it somehow
What you don’t have you don’t need it now
Don’t need it now
Was a beautiful day” U2

“Always be a first rate version of yourself, instead of a second rate version of someone else”

“A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles” Tim Cahill

“Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; the courage to change the things I can change; and the wisdom to know the difference” Serenity Prayer

“Everyday, in every way, I create for myself a never-ending flow of prosperity from the entire universe”

 “I can change my life. I deserve to be able to show the world and myself what I am capable of. I deserve to be me”

‘There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life; music and cats” Albert Schweitzer

“Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined” Henry David Thoreau

“If you want to walk fast, walk alone. If you want to walk far, walk together” African Proverb

“Half of the failures of life come from pulling one’s horse when he is leaping” Thomas Hood

‘I am free from fear and doubt, casting want and misery out, knowing now all good supply, ever comes from realms on high” Violet Flame

“It is not work that kills men, it is worry” Henry Ward Beecher

“The virtue of love isn’t finding the perfect person, but loving the imperfect person perfectly”

“Success in love is more than finding the right person. It is becomming the right person”

“Hard work, determination and a big smile are the key elements of success” Matthew D. Braun

“Love and understanding turn a look into a smile and a house into a home”

“The most attractive women are those whose lives are not defined by their relationships but enriched by them”

“I ease up on myself. I need not rush. I let go and allow the river to carry me to new adventures. I obey the laws of Eternal Rhythm. There is plenty of time for me to do all the things I need to do. There is plenty of time”

“Each day I am learning. Each day I open the door wider…the door that leads me to my Higher Self. I have the Inner Strength to find my way”

‘I am greatful and proud of who I am today’

“Do not anticipate trouble, or worry about what may never happen. Keep in the sunlight” Benjamin Franklin

“When one door of happiness closes, another opens, but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one that has been opened for us” Helen Keller

“I am happy with who I am, I am a good person and I deserve good things”

“Be who you are and say what you feel beacause those who mind dont matter and those who matter dont mind” Dr Seuss

“I am changing all my garments, old ones for the bright new day, with the Sun of understanding, I am shining all the way. I am light within, without. I am light is all about. Fill me , free me, glorify me. Seal me , heal me, purify me. Until transfigured they describe me. I am shining like the Son. I am shining like the Sun!” Violet Flame

“With each step I take, I am moving closer to the life that I want”

“Funny doesn’t sag! It’s not about how you look but about the bit of light that you bring to whatever you do…”

“Stifling an urge to dance is bad for your health-it rusts your spirit and your hips” Terri Guillemets

“Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we’re here, we should dance”

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened” Dr Seuss

“I see dance to be used as communiaction between body and soul, to express what it too deep to find for words.” Ruth St. Denis

“Do not vacillate or you will be left in between doing something, having something and being nothing” Ethiopian saying

“Anyone who says sunshine brings happiness has never danced in the rain”

“I deserve the happiness that I feel everyday”

“Every man’s life is a fairytale written by G-d’s fingers” Hans Christian Anderson

“The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear” Nelson Mandela

“Against the assault of laughter nothing can stand” Mark Twain

‘Hold a true friend with both hands” Kanuri proverb, Nigeria

“My life makes a difference. The love in my life begins with me. I love who I am”

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” St. Augustine

“Socrates learned to dance when he was seventy because he felt that an essential part of himself had been neglected”

“Where words fail, music speaks” Hans Christian Anderson

“I am filled with a vibrant living force. I am capable and whole. I am a responsible person. I am powerful and I am loving. I am a plesure to know. I am filled with beauty, strength and light. My life makes a difference. I touch the world wherever I go. I have so much to give. I hold my head up high. I deserve love. I love who I am”

“No one realizes how beautiful it is to travel until he comes home and rests his head on his old, familiar pillow” Lin Yutang

“Rising early makes the road short” Wolof proverb, Senegal

“Nothing is yours except the essential things – air, sleep, dreams, the sea, the sky” Cesar Pavese

“The greatest thing you’ll ever learn, is to love and be loved in return” Natalie Cole, Unforgettable

“Some people go to priests, others to poetry; I to my friends” Virginia Woolf

“Use what talents you possess; the woods would be very silent if no birds sang except those that sang best” Henry van Dyke

“You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here” Desiderata

“Do not follow a person who is running away'” Kalenjin (Kenya)

“To love another person is to see the face of G-d” Les Misrables

“Have a heart that never hardens, a temper that never tires and a touch that never hurts” Charles Dickens

“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated” Mahatma Gandhi

“Aerodynamically, the bumble bee shouldn’t be able to fly but the bumble bee doesn’t know it so it goes on flying anyway” Mary Kay Ash

“Enjoy life. There’s plenty of time to be dead” Hans Christian Anderson 

Categories: General | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.